Go to content


File:Rgbg-dom und rathaus.jpg

With about 150,000 inhabitants, Regensburg is the fourth largest city in Bavaria (after Munich, Nuremberg and Augsburg). It was built in 179 AD by the Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius as "Castra Regina" at the northernmost point of the river Danube. In the early Middle Ages, Regensburg was the first capital of Bavaria.

Since, luckily, the city center was hardly damaged during World War II, visitors can experience more than 2000 years of history. Due to its unique status as "the only authentically preserved large medieval city in Germany" the “Old Town Regensburg with Stadtamhof" was declared a UNESCO world heritage site in 2006.

For more information see: Regensburg Tourist Office

  1. Faculty of Languages, Literature, and Cultures
  2. Department of English and American Studies

ISLE Summer School 2017



Universität Regensburg
Department of English and American Studies
93040 Regensburg