Go to content
UR Home

Lösch Prize 2022



The City of Heidenheim (Germany) and the August Lösch Association jointly grant the August Lösch Prize 2022.

The prize was created in 1971 and first awarded in 1972 by the City of Heidenheim in honour of August Lösch (1906-1945), one of the founders of modern Regional Science and a Heidenheim citizen. (For an obituary on August Lösch, a history of the prize and previous prize winners, click here.)

The prize is meant to reward outstanding academic research in the field of Regional Science, and carries an award of Euro 4000. Joint recipients will share this amount.

The Association now invites submissions of research written in either German or English. The prize will be presented at the 2022 meeting of the German-speaking section of the European Regional Science Association (ERSA) meeting in Schwerin, Germany, June 16th 2022.

The prize recipient (or the prize recipients) will be chosen by an international committee consisting of Kristian Behrens, Rainald Borck, Kristof Dascher, Hans Koster, Gunther Maier, Annekatrin Niebuhr, Matthias Premer, Javier Revilla-Diez, Andrés Rodriguez-Pose and Roger Vickerman.


  • All types of manuscripts (such as research papers, PhD theses, books or book chapters) will be received (where research papers should have been accepted for publication in a peer reviewed international journal prior to submission.)
  • Work by young academics will be given priority over that of established professors
  • Please note that all work must have been published in years 2020, 2021 or 2022 (rather than prior to 2020)
  • The submission deadline is March 13th, 2022
  • The submission is to be accompanied by a CV and an English-language summary of the research submitted (3 pages max.)
  • Documents must be in electronic format (pdf)
  • The recipient, or the recipients, of the prize will be invited to Schwerin, all costs covered

To submit, please send an email to august-loesch.prize@uni-regensburg.de, with your documents attached. For further questions, please also contact august-loesch.prize@uni-regensburg.de.

For the prize committee,
Kristof Dascher

  1. University of Regensburg Homepage
  2. IRE|BS - International Real Estate Business School