Go to content


AdobeStock_374938181.jpg ©ATKWORK888 - stock.adobe.com

Publication Award / Young Researcher Publication Awards

The Faculty of Medicine awards four publication prizes anually for outstanding scientific publications as part of its programme to promote research and young talent. The prizes are endowed with € 1,000 each.

Publication Award

The recipient of the Publication Award is selected retrospectively by the Research Council of the Faculty of Medicine from the 12 monthly "Highlights of Biomedical Research" from the previous year. If your publication meets the requirements, you can apply to be considered as a highlight.

Award winner 2024

Patrick Neckermann (Mikrobiology and Hygiene)

Young Researcher Publication Awards

The three Young Researcher Publication Awards are selected by the Research Council of the Faculty of Medicine. Applications or nominations will be accepted by the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Medicine until 1 February 2024.

Your publication can be selected for a young researcher award if

  • it is an original work.
  • was published in 2023 and is within a maximum of eight years after the doctorate
  • has an impact factor >5.
  • the first or last authorship has a recognisable connection to the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Regensburg or the University Hospital through affiliation.

Please submit your application or nomination using the application form (DE) to:

Heide Grum, Dr. Katrin Kosovac


Award winners 2024

Dr. Nathalie Babl

Franziska Petermeier

Dr. Alexander Scheiter

Helga Reifert Award

The Helga Reifert Foundation honours scientists and doctoral students at the University of Regensburg in the field of experimental cancer research in order to provide them with long-term support. The aim of the foundation is to promote innovative research approaches in cancer therapy in order to bring the results to clinical application. The founder Helga Reifert, a native of Leipzig, lived in Regensburg from the 1960s until her death in 2023. The prize has been awarded alternately to scientists and doctoral students from the Universities of Leipzig and Regensburg since 2002.

The Helga Reifert Foundation has once again announced a prize of €10,000 for 2024. You can find the details here:

Announcement Helga Reifert-Preis 2024 DE


Dr. Konstantin Drexler, Senior docto, Dermatology and Coordinator of the Regensburg Skin Cancer Centre

Press release of UKR


Dr. Nils Ludwig, Doctor, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Press release of UKR


PD Dr. Peter Siska, Doctor, Internal Medicine III

PD Dr. Melanie Werner-Klein, Head of working group, Experimental Medicine and Therapy

Press release DE



UR - University of Regensburg
Faculty of Medicine

University Hospital
Franz-Josef-Strauß-Allee 11
93053 Regensburg