Go to content


The images are taken from the profile of UR Area Studies from the Research in Bavaria portal

DIMAS Professorships

As part of DIMAS, the Department for Interdisciplinary and Multiscalar Area Studies, the University of Regensburg has appointed six professors with a broad range of regional and disciplinary expertise. The professors are based in four faculties of the University of Regensburg. Click on their links to find out more about their work and the staff working with them.

Three positions were initially held by acting professors (Vertretungsprofessuren) on from October 2020 to strengthen and expand area studies-related research and teaching.

Further members of DIMAS

Beyond the six direct DIMAS Professorships, there are further members of DIMAS. The professors and chairs are members are members of the four faculties involved in DIMAS. According to the DIMAS statute, any professors (or chairs) from the faculties are entitled to apply for membership of the Department. In addition to the six direct members of DIMAS, the following professors of the University of Regensburg are members of DIMAS, together with their academic and non-academic staff members.


Vorstand | Board: Prof. Dr. Anna Steigemann and Prof. Dr. Rike Krämer-Hoppe

Geschäftsführung | Manager: Dr. Paul Vickers

Sekretariat | Secretary dimas@ur.de
Tel. +49 941 943 5966